The Urbane Ecologist

Busy, busy, busy, but NEWS!

Leave a comment

I’ve been very busy the past two weeks so I haven’t been able to post, but it has not been in vain!

I was writing an essay for a competition with Sage Magazine. My essay was about urban ecology–what it is, why it’s needed, and what needs to be done before it becomes a rigorous science–and I argued for the need for urban ecology not just in industrialized countries, but developing and underdeveloped countries. I was not allowed to submit something that I had previously published so I wrote it from scratch. I will not be reproducing it exactly in my blog, but I read many papers and have a lot of very interesting information to share, so I’ll be writing about that in the coming weeks.

I also got accepted to participate in the SciFund Challenge outreach training course! It is an experiment in gauging whether scientists can use crowdfunding to fund their research and is also a way to get scientists to directly engage with the public. As part of the course, participants pledge to share what they learn, so stay tuned for more information on my blog. The founders were not expecting the huge response and number of applications that they got, so I’m glad I registered early and got a spot! Here is some more information about the applicants.

Onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

